Horwich Triathlon 2013

On Sunday the 5th May I travelled up to Horwich near Bolton to take part in the tough Horwich ‘race to the pike’ triathlon. The race consisted of a 500m swim in a pool, 40km hilly bike and a 8.6km run, which went to top of the Rivington pike and back down again.

Pre Race
On the hour and a half journey up to the race the rain started to pour down and the mist was low, the race didn’t look very good. When we got there we drove the bike course to get a feel for the challenge that faced me. The road surface was not good with big pot holes everywhere. Once we got back to the leisure centre the rain had eased off and the sun was beginning to peak through the clouds. I registered and got my number and a nice race t shirt, and then got my kit set up and took it down to transition. I was racked next to some very nice bikes, but I think my bright green bike stood out from the crowd. One hour before my start I began drinking my Herbalife Prepare to give me good boost.

The Swim and run to T1
The swim was 500m in a pool with two other swimmers in my lane. I was in the penultimate wave which meant I had some very fast boys with me and in the wave behind me including pro athlete Paul Hawkins! The swim went well, I lapped the others in my lane and was out of the water first in my wave, this meant that if anyone came past me they were beating me. Once out of the water I began the 200m run to T1. I completed the swim and run to T1 in a time of 8:21 which gave me the 4th/5th fastest swim split.

The Bike and T1
Then I was in T1 and I got my shoes, helmet and race belt on smoothly, I had lost no places during transition. Then as I was running out of transition I saw my competitors running in. Once out of T1 I began the 40km hilly ride carrying Herbalife Prolong on my bike to keep my energy up for the whole duration of the race. The course went up, up and up before a big super fast descent with a few hairpins along the way. The ride then continued with no flat parts, it was either up or down with the later part having more steep sharp climbs and descents. I pushed hard uphill and down, dodging potholes everywhere. The experienced cyclists from my wave were slowly reigning me in, in the very early stages. But as the ride went on my time trialling ability came into play and I was opening the gap. The gap started at 1:30 out of the water but had opened a lot by the time I had got back in off the bike. I came into the second transition still leading my wave and was getting some big cheers from the family and supporters at the entry to T2/finish line, this spurred me on! I had done the bike and T1 in a time of 1:06:20 this gave me the 10th fastest split!

20130506-210243.jpg
Photo courtesy of http://www.sportsunday.co.uk

The Run and T2
Once in T2 I efficiently got my race shoes on and I was gone. I didn’t see any people from my wave as I ran out but I knew I had to push hard all 4km to the top of the hill if I wanted to finish high up the field. I began the run strong on the easier part of the climb and was overtaking competitors from the
earlier waves. Then the hill got steep, there was a fair few supporters out cheering all of the competitors on which was great and really gives you a boost. My legs were very heavy and aching from the killer bike when I got to the top. I then had to negotiate myself back down the hill and back to the finish. I reeled in some more competitors and still hadn’t been overtaken by any people from my wave. I flew down the hill and was then back onto the road for the final part of the run, I dug in with tired legs and finished strong getting cheered in all of the way! I had finished the run and T2 in a time of 39:52 which was a few minutes down on the winning time.

20130506-211513.jpg
Photo courtesy of http://www.sportsunday.co.uk

Overall I had finished the race in 9th position! I was really pleased with my effort and it was some great race preparation for Snowdonia Slateman in two weeks. After the race I had my Herbalife Rebuild to aid my recovery and was getting congratulated for a great performance as I walked through some of the spectators…I felt like a pro! I was the only 16 year old in the whole race and was the first under 20 by over 35minutes!

I would like to say a massive thank you to http://www.sportsunday.co.uk for the great photographs of the race, and to Nadia Fantastico/Herbalife for the great drinks!

For more information on Herbalife products please contact me on – garbett96@gmail.com or Nadia Fantastico on nadiactive@gmail.com or 07870684341

Check back next weekend as I have got two time trials and a fell race this week!

Tom.

3 thoughts on “Horwich Triathlon 2013

  1. nadiActive

    Hi Tom – That’s me back from sunny Gran Canaria and ready to get back to work tomorrow. The first thing I done when I got home was swtich on the computer to catch up with important news… your blog was my first read. I am Delighted for you !….. Give me some dates of big events that your doing and I will come down to meet you in person, your family and cheer you on. I can dring you Herbalife products rather than post them. Are you needing products to keep you going for now ?

    Reply
    1. triathlontom Post author

      Hope you enjoyed your holiday. My next big races are Snowdonia slateman 19th may and Chester tri which is the 2nd of June where i am hoping to qualify for the worlds which is in September, but i am looking to do some more races further up north which would be easier for you to get to later in the year. The only products that i am starting to get low on is the rebuild, but i am alright for the moment. A jacket and/or a t shirt would be good for walking around at races, i will have a look and get back to you on that!

      Reply
  2. nadiActive

    Looking good in the tri suits … I think we should look at a jacket also ? let me know what you like and I can do my best to track one down for you !

    Reply

Leave a Reply

