Doing the double

This week I competed in three time trials, one on Wednesday and the other two on Saturday…back to back with a 20minute spin in between both 10’s.

Wednesday 12th, Hafren CC 10
On Wednesday I competed in the hafren cc 10 on a potentially fast course but this night was not really fast. It had a strong tailwind out and a speed destroying headwind on the way back.

Before the race I drank my herbalife prepare and got my number pinned on, I started one minute behind a fast junior so I knew I had to hold my own on the outward leg and then make up as much time as possible in to the strong headwind.

I went out fast and at the turnaround was averaging 28mph and I could see the junior in the distance. I turned and was hit by the wind and my speed dropped dramatically. I was slowly closing in on the junior but never caught him and by the end I had caught 30seconds on him. I had finished 5th overall in a time of 23:43.

Then after the race I drank my herbalife rebuild to help my recovery.

Saturday 15th, two 10mile TT’s
On Saturday I competed in a junior regional championship and national qualifier and then I had another 10 20minutes after which was a county championship.

Before the race I drank another herbalife prepare and pinned my first number on, number 13. I was last off in the junior race and I had some competition with some fast juniors there that do a lot of road racing. The wind was very similar to Wednesday with a strong cross/tailwind and a head wind back.

I went out fast but by 3.5miles I was already 10seconds down on one of the juniors. I kept strong and didn’t get disheartened and turned well and it was straight back into a strong headwind, I pushed hard and my long distance time trialling was coming into play. I pulled back lost seconds and finished in a time of 23:15.

I didn’t have time to go and look at the results as it was back onto the turbo for a 15minute spin and my number was changed to number 65. And then it was back to the start line for my second 10.

The wind had changed and it wasn’t that helpful on the way out but was once again really hard on the way back. This was an odd experience and knew I wasn’t going to go as fast as the first 10, but it was just how close I could get.

I didn’t go out as fast as the first 10 as I knew how hard the returning leg was going to be. But I pushed hard and pushed hard on the way back trying to keep my minute man from overtaking me, and I did…just. I finished the second 10 in a time of 23:50, so I was pleased to be able to keep both in the 23 minutes. (It’s all good triathlon and long distance TT practice anyway)

After this I had my herbalife rebuild and headed to the HQ to see where I had finished. In the junior race I had managed to gain my lost seconds but not take any more out and had finished equal first overall. This meant that I had qualified for the national final. Then in the county champs I was first junior and 9th overall.

For more information on herbalife products contact me on garbett96@gmail.com or Nadia Fantastico on nadiactive@gmail.com,07870684341 or http://herbal-nutrition.net/nadiafanta, you should definitely try them as I have seen great benefits!

Check back next week as I have a 30mile TT on Tuesday, a hilly 19 mile TT on Friday and then a 10 mile TT on Saturday.

Tom.

One thought on “Doing the double

Leave a Reply

