Last minute entries…

This week I said that I had a, 30m TT, a 19m TT and a 10 but I had got the dates wrong. I didn’t have a 10m TT after all that is next weekend. So this left me with an empty weekend so I did a last minute entry into Cholmondeley Castle mid distance triathlon.

Tuesday 18th 30m TT
On Tuesday I competed in a 30mile TT, the conditions were good in some ways and not so good in others, there was very little wind which was a good thing but it was very humid, so in an aero helmet it was very hot and my visor was steaming up and couldn’t see for the majority of the race!

I warmed up using my Herbalife Prepare, doing a shorter warmup than usual as it was quite a long time trial and I didn’t want to tire myself out. Shortly after it was time to start, with an average speed of 25mph in mind to try and keep to get a PB I knew I couldn’t start off too fast otherwise I would have nothing left for the rest of the race. I began well and then my 15minute timer for my gel and water went off and after having my gel I reached back to get my drink, and there was nothing there… My water bottle had bounced out from behind my seat over the rough section of road at around 3mile, so now I knew I would have to pace myself with only 3 energy gels to keep me going the whole race.

I finished strong with my average speed at 25mph which meant I had pb’d by 39seconds, with a time of 1:12:22. This meant I had finished 6th overall which I was very pleased with. After the race I had another Herbalife rebuild to help my recovery!

Friday 21st 19mile hilly TT
On Friday I competed in a 19mile TT, the conditions were pretty good with it being dry but with quite a strong wind.

I warmed up again using my Herbalife prepare. Then it was time to race. The course consisted of 7miles flat, then 9miles out and back on an undulating road which consisted of a 1mile pretty steep climb that we had to go over twice, just to make it interesting. And then finished with a 3mile flat section!

I rode well and climbed the hills strong and descended fast with a max speed of 47mph… Lucky I didn’t go into a speed wobble or that would of hurt! I finished strong with my average speed at 23.9 mph which meant I had pb’d by over a minute, with a time of 46:58. This meant I had finished 5th overall which I was very pleased with. After the race I had another Herbalife rebuild to help my recovery!

Sunday 23rd Cholmondeley castle triathlon
With a last minute entry I didn’t know what to expect and so used this race as a good training day. The distances were 800m swim, 44km bike and then a 8km run. My race plan given by my dad/coach was to go hard in the swim, get round the bike safely and then hammer the run and see what time I can do. There were torrential conditions with high winds and lots of rain meaning the roads on the bike were really slick and dangerous.

I did what I had to do, I pushed the swim hard and exited the water in second place by a couple of seconds. The water was not nice I couldn’t even see my hand in front of me the lake was that dirty but it was nice and warm for a change. I quickly slipped my wetsuit off and I was gone.

The bike was split into two laps with some real rough sections and road chippings washed all over the road in places which made the descents very dangerous. I rode strong on the flats and up the hills but then didn’t descend like a nutter as I didn’t want to come off and hurt myself ahead of next weeks triathlon. I was overtaken by one man on the bike who descended really quickly but I wasn’t going to risk it and carried on with my own race. I had lost a couple of minutes on the bike to the two leaders. I was then into t2 which didn’t go smoothly I couldn’t get my shoes on and my hands were cold but eventually they were on and off I went.

I went off hard for the first km of the run and then settled into my pace. I kept a high pace for the whole run and for the first time didn’t get overtaken by anyone! I did a run split of 29:21 for the 8km and I was really pleased with it.

After the race I had my Herbalife Rebuild and then got onto the podium to collect my voucher and 3rd place trophy!

For more information on Herbalife products please contact me on – garbett96@gmail.com or Nadia Fantastico on nadiactive@gmail.com , 07870684341 or http://herbal-nutrition.net/nadiafanta

Check back next weekend as I have a 10m TT on Saturday and then an Olympic distance triathlon on Sunday!

Tom.

One thought on “Last minute entries…

  1. nadiActive

    Hi Tom – More personal best results !! Congratulations on both – You could have had a day off, although for you that’s NO fun. Have you had a chance to try the strap out doors ?

    Reply

Leave a Reply

