Why you shouldn’t race too soon after illness

This week I was supposed to compete in a 10mile TT on Saturday and then a double sprint triathlon on the Sunday. But I managed to catch a stomach bug from somewhere, either last weeks race or maybe swimming during the week. So I decided not to race on Saturday so I don’t make myself even worse for Sunday, this helped but not fully. So I went to race the double sprint triathlon, distances of a 1500m open water swim, 54k bike and then a 10k run, but the swim had to be cancelled due to infections in the water, and it was changed to a duathlon, with distances of a 5k run, 54k bike and then the 10k run.

The run course was a 5k loop, mainly off road with a large hill in the middle. Whereas the bike was a 27k undulating loop. We didn’t arrive in enough time to go and take a look at the course so it was just down to taking it as it comes. Before the race I drank my Herbalife prepare and did a short warm up ahead of the 5k first run.

I went off hard for the first mile, and then began to go backwards when I got to the hill but I kept the pace high and got into T1 in the top 10. I got my bike shoes on and it was out on to the bike, it was a really unusual feeling biking after running but I gave myself a few miles to get in to my rhythm. I then raised the pace and began closing in on the competitors in front. After losing my water bottle with my Herbalife drink in half way around the first loop,I was just down to gels I hadn’t used before until I finished the first loop, where there was a drink station and they were handing out bottles of what I thought was water. It wasn’t it was a product from USN, so I didn’t know how my body was going to cope with using all of these different products but I kept on pushing and came into T2 in the top 5.

I then went out onto the run, already with an uncomfortable stomach but just to add to it products from 3 different companies and water in it too. As soon as I began running I was already being chased down by someone who came into T2 right behind me. But I kept running my own race and was caught by 3 runners in the first lap, I stayed close to the 3rd for a while but then when I got onto the second lap my stomach turned and it was seriously uncomfortable. I was heaving and throwing up a few times on that lap which wasn’t nice. I managed to finish just inside the top 10 which I was pleased with considering how I felt. As well as a top 10 finish I won the junior category.

I now know that I shouldn’t race so close after being ill and will be looking at changing my bottle cage so that I do not lose my Herbalife drink again.

For more information on Herbalife products please contact me on – garbett96@gmail.com or Nadia Fantastico on nadiactive@gmail.com , 07870684341 or http://herbal-nutrition.net/nadiafanta

Next week if I’m feeling good enough I will be competing in championship 25mile TT on Wednesday and then a 25mile TT on the Sunday.

Thanks for reading
Tom.

2 thoughts on “Why you shouldn’t race too soon after illness

  1. nadiActive

    MY- MY – between sun burn ! stomach issues plus a mixture of products in your sensitive stomach NO wonder you throw up….. I will send you some Herbalife H30. its been a while since you have had some H30, Treats on me ! if there is anything else you need or any questions regarding exercise tips please don’t hesitate to ask. ….. Have you tried the strap outdoor wrapped round a tree branch yet ? or has it been too difficult to find the time.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

