25mile time trials

Over the past two weeks I have competed in two 25mile time trials.

Saturday 17th, Wrekinsport 25
The first 25 I competed in was the wrekinsport time trial. The conditions were really hard, with a seriously strong headwind on the outward leg and the chance of a heavy downpour!

Before the race I was drinking my Herbalife prepare whilst deciding on what front wheel to use in the conditions, I chose a 50mm rim because the wind was to strong for me to keep control of my 4 spoke. I jumped on the turbo to do my usual warm up, raising my heart rate to what I race at so it wasn’t a shock when I start the race. After 30minutes it was off the turbo, back wheel change and then a 1mile ride to the start.

I got to the start line and the wind was very strong so I knew I had to work very hard on the outward leg to gain time on some of the other riders. I did what I set out to do, I pushed hard catching a lot of riders that started in front of me, including a junior who started 8 minutes in front, I caught him within the first 10miles. I kept my effort high and turned at the roundabout at an average speed of 23.5mph. I now knew that I had the wind assisting me but still needed to work hard to break the hour. Coming back was so fast, I did the return leg at an average of around 27mph. But with around 6mile to go the road surface got really bad and rough and I snapped a bolt off my TT bars, which meant my tri bar was loose and bouncing around. But this didn’t stop me, I kept on pushing all the way to the line and finished with an average speed of 25.6mph, and a time of 58:36. This was a new PB by a minute, which I was over the moon with considering the conditions.

After the race I had my Herbalife rebuild to help with my recover. After this I went to look at the results board to find out I had finished 12th overall and 5th out of the shropshire riders.

Sunday 25th, NSW 25
Then after a good hard week of training I competed in my clubs 25mile TT, the conditions for this race were the opposite to last weeks with a tailwind on the outward leg but another strong headwind on the uphill return leg. I wanted another PB in this event.

Before the race I drank my Herbalife prepare whilst on the turbo doing my warm up. I felt good on the turbo and was able to get my heart rate up which meant, even after the week of hard training, I wasn’t that tired. After completing my warmup I got ready and started the 3mile ride to the start line.

I was then ready to ride. In this race I knew I couldn’t go off too hard as I wouldn’t have enough energy to push hard on the tough return leg. I felt strong and was going well, catching my 2minute man within the first 2 mile. I kept the pace high and got to the turn around point at an average speed of 27.5mph, but know I knew that return leg was going to be very tough and my average speed would drop, but it was the case of by how much, I knew that it couldn’t drop below 25.6mph if I had any chance of getting a new PB. I did what I set out to do, pushed hard on the way back catching more and more early starters. 2 mile to go to the finish, 25.6mph average, I dropped a gear and pushed hard. 100metres to go, I dropped another gear, got out the saddle and sprinted to the line and finished with an average speed of 25.8mph. This meant I had got another PB of 58:15!

After the race I had another Herbalife rebuild to help with my recovery. With no official results out yet I am unsure of my position but I know I got in the top 15 out of 100 riders.

For more information on Herbalife products please contact me on – garbett96@gmail.com or Nadia on nadiactive@gmail.com , 07870684341 or http://herbal-nutrition.net/nadiafanta

Check back next week as I have no time trials but I am competing in a local hill climb race.

Thanks for reading
Tom

Looking for sponsors or race teams!

20130825-203833.jpg

Leave a Reply

